Zakharov Prize to Dr. Denis Mukwege

The Zakharov Prize was awarded to Dr.Denis Mukwege from Democratic Republic of Congo for his fight for protection of women against violence

Denis Mukwege is the laureate of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought this year. The Congolese gynecologist is treating victims of sexual violence in a hospital he founded in 1998.

Urmas Paet, a member of the European Parliament, said that awarding the Sakharov prize to Denis Mukwege is very humane and timely. “Violence against women is still very widespread in all parts of the world. Dr.Mukwege has worked hard in combating this abnormality and has helped and brought back to life many people,” Paet added.

Paet said that every person with a conscience must contribute to the elimination of violence against women. “Be it intolerance of domestic violence or taking cases of mass raping into the International Criminal Court,” he added.

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament. It was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organizations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms. Last year the prize was awarded to Malala Yousafzaï, the Pakistani campaigner for girls’ education.